15 Zanu(PF) Cadres Vie For Mutasa's Headlands Seat

15 Zanu PF cadres have expressed interest in contesting the Headlands constituency and have registered willingness to contest primary elections.

The seat was declared vacant after Zanu PF recalled Didymus Mutasa. 

Mutasa who has since been expelled from the party and parliament earlier indicated that he would contest to regain his seat.
A number of Zanu PF cadres from Makoni District have expressed willingness to wrestle in the primary elections.
Among some of the candidates who have declared interests for the Headlands constituency are former Manicaland Governor and Resident Minister  Tinaye Chigudu, Provincial Member  Nathaniel Mhiripiri, Provincial Youth League Chairperson  Dakarayi Mapuranga, Ward 37 Makoni Rural District Councillor  Taurai Chiripamberi, Mathias Dakura fellow Councillor, Acting War Veterans Chairperson for Manicaland  Nation Madongorere, and  Christopher Chingosho, among others.

Addressing the Makoni political leadership Zanu PF politburo member,  Patrick Chinamasa challenged the interested candidates to work for the party and reclaim the legislative seat during the by election whose dates are yet to be announced.

Politburo member Oppah Muchinguri warned party cadres who are causing divisions in the district, while Deputy National Secretary for Youth League,Kudzi Chipanga reminded party cadres in Makoni District to disassociate themselves from Mutasa.

Mutasa and Temba Mliswa were expelled from parliament last week after Zanu PF recalled them.

By-elections will thus be held in Headlands and Hurungwe West