2012 Africa Nations Cup Seedings Out

The Zimbabwe Warriors will be drawn in Pot  2 alongside, Namibia, Congo DR, Gambia, Libya, Botswana, Ethiopia, Sierra Leone, Swaziland, Chad, Burundi, Lesotho and Madagascar.

The draw will be held in Lubumbashi on February with the qualifiers expected to commence in September this year.

The 2012 edition of the Nations Cup will be jointly held in Gabon and Equatorial Guinea.

The Warriors are once again conspicuous by their absence from the ongoing African Cup of Nations in Angola, having also missed out on the 2008 edition in Ghana.

Zimbabwe have also been forced to continue with their long wait for a maiden place at the World Cup following a dismal qualification campaign for the 2010 showcase in South Africa in June.

The Warriors – then under the guidance of Brazilian Valinhos – fell at the preliminary stage of the Nations Cup and World Cup qualifiers.

Based on the 2008 CAN draw procedure, the first seeded team will be placed with the weakest team from each of the other three pots.

With 51 members and 14 places available, Confederation of African Football will probably use a system with 12 groups of 4 teams and one with 3 teams, with the winners and the best runner-up qualifying.

However, if at least 3 members don’t enter the qualifying rounds, then there will be 12 groups of 4 teams with the winners and top two runners-up joining the hosts in 2012.

The seeding formula is the sum of: 2010 WCQ points, bonus for qualifying for the 2010 WC (6 points), 2010 ACN group stage points and 2010 ACN performance bonus.

The rest of the teams will be ranked using the January 2010 FIFA ranking.

The seedings are as follows:

Pot 1: Ivory Coast, Cameroon, Algeria, Ghana, Nigeria, Egypt, Burkina Faso, Tunisia, Benin, Mali, Togo, Mozambique, Zambia

Pot 2: Malawi, Morocco, Guinea, Kenya, Rwanda, Sudan, South Africa, Senegal, Uganda, Cape Verde Islands, Congo, Angola, Tanzania

Pot 3: Zimbabwe, Namibia, Congo DR, Gambia, Libya, Botswana, Ethiopia, Sierra Leone, Swaziland, Chad, Burundi, Lesotho, Madagascar

Pot 4: Liberia, Mauritania, Niger, Eritrea, Comoros, Seychelles, Mauritius, Somalia, Djibouti, Guinea-Bissau, Central African Republic, Sao Tome Principe.