21 UMDC Affiliated MPs Expelled From Parliament

21 Tendai Biti-led opposition parliamentarians have lost their seats in the august house after the Speaker of Parliament Advocate Jacob Mudenda, ruled that the MPs had left the Morgan Tsvangirai led MDC-T to form United Movement for Democratic Change.

Advocate Mudenda has since declared their seats vacant as the former parliamentarians led by the former MDC-T Secretary General Tendai Biti are no longer allowed to sit in parliament.

The ruling was in response to Zanu(PF) National Assembly member for Buhera West Cde Oliver Mandipaka who raised a point of order on the 5th of this month in the National Assembly saying the MPs were in the house illegally.

MDC-T secretary general Douglas Mwonzora wrote to the Speaker and President of the Senate and the legislators themselves recalling them from their seats saying the legislators no longer represented their interests since they had since joined the United MDC co led by Prodessor Welshman Ncube and Sekai Holland.

Of the 21, 17 are in the National Assembly while four are in senate.

The MDC-T and MDC Renewal Team fought legitimacy battles with both claiming they were the real MDC.

It all started with former energy minister Elton Mangoma writing to Tsvangirai that he should resign after the party lost dismally to Zanu (PF) in the July 2013 general elections.