Cricket selectors Ignore Vusi Sibanda For New Zealand Tour

The 16 member Zimbabwe team has been selected for the tour of New Zealand which begins on January 16 and ends on February 14.

At the beginning of the season, Sibanda was offered a Zimbabwe Cricket contract which he declined in favour of a contract to play Grade Cricket in Australia.

The eligibility policy provides for exceptions in the case of once-off tournaments abroad in which case a no-objection certificate is issued, such as the one given to Zimbabwe captain Brendan Taylor.

Brian Vitori who did not feature in the New Zealand visit to Zimbabwe through injury returns to the fold as Zimbabwe’s seeks to improve on that loss at home.

New Zealand toured Zimbabwe from October 15 to November 5 and won the two Twenty20 matches, the three ODIs and the Test.

“Graeme Cremer is going as the second spinner for the Test match and will then be replaced by Prosper Utseya for the One-Day International and Twenty20 matches.” said the convener of selectors Gift Makoni. Cremer also returns after recovering from a knee injury but has been declared fit to face the Black Cats.

Added Makoni:“Stuart Matsikenyeri has earned a recall into the national squad as he has done very well in the domestic competitions and is  one of the few batsmen who has been  consistent.  He is an experienced and aggressive player.”

Matsikenyeri last played in any ODI for Zimbabwe in March two years ago but has been recalled following his impressive form for the Mashonaland Eagles.

The rest of the team which will be captained by Brendon Taylor has the same familiar experienced faces Tatenda Taibu, Hamilton Masakadza, Elton Chigumbura, Kyle Jarvis, Raymond Price, and Keegan Meth amongst others but a miracle is not expected from the side.

The tour to New Zealand is Zimbabwe’s last engagement of the 2011 programme and the series will comprise a one-off Test starting January 26, followed by three ODIs and two Twenty20s.

Zimbabwe lost

The squad

Brendan Taylor (Captain), Regis Chakabva, Elton Chigumbura, Graeme Cremer, Kyle Jarvis, Hamilton Masakadza, Shingirai Masakadza, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Tinotenda Mawoyo;, Keegan Meth, Forster Mutizwa, Raymond Price, Tatenda Taibu, Prosper Utseya, Brian Vitori and Malcolm Waller.