Djokovic Takes Third Australian Open In A Row

January 27, 2013 – Novak Djokovic has wore down Andy Murray in a gruelling four-set final to clinch a hat-trick of Australian Open titles on Rod Laver Arena.

The Serbian world No. 1 lost the opening set in a tiebreaker but got progressively stronger to dominate the suffering Murray and win 6-7 (2/7), 7-6 (7/3), 6-3, 6-2 in three hours and 40 minutes.

It was Djokovic’s fourth Australian crown and his sixth Grand Slam title overall to confirm himself as the game’s premier player.

Djokovic (25) became the first man in the Open Era and the third man ever to win three consecutive Australian Open titles, joining Australians Jack Crawford (1931 to 1933) and five-time winner Roy Emerson (1963 to 1967).

“What a joy, it’s an incredible feeling winning this trophy once more and it’s definitely my favourite Grand Slam, my most successful Grand Slam, I love this court,” Djokovic said.

Britain’s Murray, world No. 3, began well but he battled a left hamstring injury and blistered feet as Djokovic stepped up, winning the important points and most of the lung-busting long rallies.

“I congratulate Novak. His record here is absolutely incredible and there are very few people who have managed to do what he’s done here. He’s a very deserved champion,” Murray said.

It was Djokovic’s second win over Murray in a Grand Slam final after the 2011 Australian final, and ended the Scot’s unbeaten 13-match run in the majors since his victory over the Serb in last September’s US Open decider.

Djokovic confirmed his standing as the No. 1 ranked player while Murray will remain in the third position behind Roger Federer.

It continued Djokovic’s dominance on the Melbourne hardcourt surface and capped an impressive fortnight where he recovered from a draining five-setter over five hours with Stanislas Wawrinka in the fourth round to score emphatic wins over Tomas Berdych and David Ferrer to reach the final.

In a tight opening set, Murray saved five break points over two service games before it was decided by a tiebreaker.

The Scot played virtually the perfect tiebreaker with three mini-breaks against the wavering Djokovic to go one set up after 68 hard-fought minutes.

And the Serb had to fight off three break points on his opening service in the second set as Murray remained in control.

Yet again both players held their serve and the final went into a second tiebreaker, but this time Djokovic was the steadier player winning 7/3 to level the match at the two hour and 13-minute mark.

The turning point came in the eighth game of the third set when Djokovic won a psychologically important point off an exhausting 36-stroke rally, leaving the Serb smiling and the Scot gasping.

Djokovic turned up the heat and got the first service break of the final, after two hours and 51 minutes, on his third break point and then served out for a two sets to one lead.

Murray was having problems with his left hamstring and was troubled going to his forehand side as Djokovic began to take the ascendancy early in the fourth set.

He got two break points in Murray’s second service game and the top seed again came out on top after a sapping 26-stroke rally, breaking the Scot’s serve a second time and consolidated for a 3-1 lead.

The end approached as Murray double-faulted on break point in his next service game, handing Djokovic a 4-1 with the finish line in sight.

Djokovic served out for the championship and clinched it on his first match point when Murray netted a backhand. – AFP