MDC-T MPs, Councillors Defect To Renewal Team

Two legislators and several councilors in Bulawayo have crossed floors from the MDC-T to the renewal group led by Mr Tendai Biti.

Confusion continues to reign supreme in the MDC-T with National Assembly members, Albert Mhlanga and Gladys Mathe defecting from Morgan Tsvangirai’s MDC-T to the MDC Renewal Team.

Briefing the media at the Renewal Team’s National Chairman, Samuel Sipepa Nkomo’s house in Killarney, Mhlanga, who was elected as the MDC-T Organising Secretary for Bulawayo Province over the weekend, said the provincial congress proved beyond any doubt that the MDC-T no longer respects the norms and values of democracy and its own constitution.

Mhlanga alleged that the provincial congress was used by members of the standing committee in particular Ms Thokozani Kuphe and Abednico Bhebhe to impose their friends, relatives, financiers and bootlickers as leaders of the province against the party’s constitution.

Welcoming the new members, Nkomo bemoaned the death of democracy in his former party.

Over the weekend, Gift Banda was elected to the position of Provincial Chairman in the MDC-T, while Dorcas Sibanda was elected as Deputy Chairperson.

There have however been accusations that the  Tsvangirai has been imposing candidates with a local daily publication even making allegations of rigging.