MDC's Lovemore Moyo Retains Speaker's Post

Moyo beat Khaya-Moyo 105-94 in a vote marked by tension in the House of Assembly following damning revelations that Zanu (PF) spin-doctor Jonathan
Moyo attempted to bribe the party’s legislators by allegedly paying them US$5000 each to throw the vote in favour in the Zanu (PF) candidate.

The Supreme Court dethroned Lovemore Moyo early this month citing electoral irregularities in the voting process that took place in
August 2008 after Jonathan Moyo challenged his election.

There were four legislators that abstained from voting and one spoilt ballot.

There was drama at the house when the proceedings to elect the new speaker resumed with MDC T deputy chief whip Dorcas Moyo nominating from the
floor Jonathan Moyo for the Speaker’s position, a move vehemently opposed by Emerson Mnangagwa, who shot it down saying Zanu (PF) had
already selected Khaya-Moyo as  the party candidate.

Nine-four MDC T legislators turned up for the polls while six turned up from the Welshman Ncube led MDC, which rescinded its earlier
resolution to abstain from the vote.

There was jubilation after Clerk of Parliament announced the results.

Lovemore Moyo told Radio  VOP:”God is great. This is a sweet victory against the enemies of democracy.”