Muchinguri Booed

She said she was against the idea of referring outstanding issues in the inclusive government to the Southern African Development Community (SADC), the guarantors of the global political agreement that gave rise to the formation of Zimbabwe’s coalition government.


“Let us solve our own issues alone, why should we turn to SADC? Why not resolve our own problems alone, than to involve SADC, Britain and America. Did Britain refer its problems to Zimbabwe for solving? Britain and America have their fair share of problems,” Oppah said, much to the anger of the MDC-T MPs present.


Masvingo Urban MDC-T legislator, Tongai Matutu, said Oppah’s remarks were very suicidal and counter productive, considering that she is a member of JOMIC.


“Thai is very suicidal and counter productive, you got it wrong auntie. Revise your position, otherwise JOMIC weould be useless,” Matutu answered back shouting immediately after Muchinguri’s remarks.


ZAKA West Member of Parliament, Festus Dumbu, also joined in, shouting that Oppah should sit down and stop talking as she had ‘nothing to share with us’.


“Sit down now, you have nothing to share with us. Is that what you called us for? That is rubbish,” Dumbu said.


Other MDC-T MPs also heckled as Muchinguri tried to go ahead with her presentation, forcing her to cut it short.

The year-old JOMIC, a watchdog of the unity government, was formed under article 22 of the global political agreement which provides for the creation of a monitoring mechanism for the proper and full implementation of the letter and spirit of the agreement.The 12-member JOMIC consist of four members from each political party in the inclusive government.


Muchinguri, co-chair Nicholas Goche, Patrick Chinamasa and Kembo Mohadi are on a ZANU PF ticket, while Innocent Mangoma-who co-chairs on the MDC-T side-also represents his party with Elias Mudzuri, Thabitha Khumalo and Innocent Chagonda.


The Authur Mutambara led-MDC is represented by Welshman Ncube, Priscilla Misihairabwi-Mushonga, Frank Chamunorwa and Wilfred Mukosi.