Mupfumi To Contest Tsunga's Dangamvura-Chikanga Seat

Zanu (PF) central committee member Esau Mupfumi has won the Zanu PF primary elections for Dangamvura-Chikanga constituency, beating four other contestants by a wide margin.

Mupfumi garnered 1 110 votes followed by Yard Binali who received 745 votes.

Reketai Duru received 586 votes with Kenneth Muchina amassing 522 votes whilst Future Pariyana managed only 67 votes.

In announcing the results, Zanu (PF) politburo member Joram Gumbo implored all the candidates to work together in order for the revolutionary party to win the legislative seat resoundingly.

Zanu (PF) Acting Manicaland provincial chairman Dr Samuel Undenge said all the losing and winning candidates should work together in the June 10 by-elections.

Dangamvura-Chikanga constituency fell vacant after the expulsion of leading human rights lawyer Arnold Tsunga and former vice chairman of Radio VOP board from the MDC-T.

In Manicaland province, by-elections will be held in Headlands and Dangamvura-Chikanga constituency on June 10.

Meanwhile, the ruling party is confident of victory in the Tsholotsho North constituency by-election which it lost to MDC-T.

Zanu PF, which will be represented by 2013 loser Professor Jonathan Moyo as its candidate, has started campaigning ahead of the June polls.

In his address in Tsholotsho during the party’s provincial  coordinating  committee meeting, Matabeleland North Zanu PF provincial chairman,Richard Moyo said the party has activated all its structures and is campaigning for its candidate.

He said Zanu PF is set to win the by-election given its track record in working with the people of Tsholotsho by fostering development in the constituency.

Moyo who was beaten by Roseline Nkomo of MDC-T said Professor Moyo is a tried and tested leader who has a good vision for the constituency.

In an interview with ZBC News, Zanu (PF) politburo member and Minister of State for Matabeleland North Cain Mathema said Zanu PF is the only people-centred party which has a vision of propelling development in the constituency.

The meeting was also attended by Professor Moyo a former staunch critic of President Mugabe who was once fired from Zanu(PF), former governor Thokozile Mathuthu and other senior party officials.