Mutasa's Papers Rejected By Nomination Court

Didymus Mutasa’s attempts to contest the Headlands by-election under the Zanu (PF) ticket have hit a brick wall after his papers were rejected by the Nomination Court.

The development means three candidates will now contest in the June 10 by-election.

Mutasa attempted to present his papers under Zanu (PF) when the Nomination Court sat on Wednesday but his papers were rejected after the Zanu PF Manicaland provincial leadership objected to the submission of nomination papers under the name and symbol of the revolutionary party.

The development left only three candidates battling for honours in the June 10 Headlands by-election.

Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) Provincial Elections Officer, Moffat Masabeya announced at the close of the Nomination Court at the Mutare Magistrate Court the three successful candidates that were duly nominated and those whose papers were rejected.

Zanu PF is being represented by Christopher Chingosho, while NCA will be represented by Mukunda David, with Mr Mukaratirwa Albert standing in as an independent candidate.

All the three party representatives expressed confidence of winning the Headlands legislative seat.

Zanu (PF) Acting Manicaland Provincial Chairman, Dr Samuel Undenge said the revolutionary party will retain the Headlands constituency and demonstrate that Zanu PF is a people-centre party with the interests of the people at heart.

The Headlands Constituency fell vacant after the expulsion of former Zanu (PF) National Secretary for Administration, Didymus Mutasa and his subsequent recalling.

All the three candidates will battle it out to win the sole Headlands legislative seat.