Mwonzora Beats Chamisa As Tsvangirai Consolidates Power

The curtain has come down on the MDC-T’s national congress with leader, Morgan Tsvangirai entrenching all power to himself and the party’s former National Organising Secretary, Nelson Chamisa reduced to an ordinary card carrying member.

ZBC News reports that one of the resolutions at the party’s congress was ‘to amend the constitution to allow the president to be the custodian of the party name, custodian of all party assets, to supervise all in the leadership, to be the party’s chief fundraiser and to suspend national standing committee members through the National Council for breach of the party constitution.’ 

In this regard, the Secretary General shall no longer be responsible for all party affairs in the national secretariat and shall report to the president.

Tsvangirai, who came to the congress heavily bruised after former Secretary General Tendai Biti broke ranks, also saw his preferred candidate Douglas Mwonzora beating Nelson Chamisa to land the post. 

Mwonzora, who until Friday’s elective congress was the party’s Secretary for Information, amassed 2464 against Chamisa’s 1756, reducing the former National Organising Secretary to an ordinary card carrying member of the party. 

Mwonzora will be deputised by Paurina Mpariwa, who was elected unopposed.

Other party officials who made it to the new executive include Morgan Komichi and former speaker of parliament, Lovemore Moyo, who was re-elected unopposed as substantive chair. 

Theresa Makone surrendered her post as women’s assembly boss to become party Treasurer General at the expense of her challenger, Tapiwa Mashakada. 

Makone is being deputised by Charlton Hwende.

The former Deputy Organising Secretary, Abednico Bhebhe beat Mkoba legislator, Amos Chibaya to the post of Organising Secretary and would be deputised by Mkulumane MP, Thamsanqa Mahlangu who beat Budiriro MP, Costa Machingauta. 

Former Chimanimani West legislator, Lynette Karenyi is now Women’s Assembly Chair after beating Lilian Timeos. 

Happymore Chidziva now takes charge of the MDC-T Youth Assembly from Solomon Madzore, who is now with the MDC Renewal team.

Obert Gutu is now the party’s Secretary for Information with Bulawayo East MP, Thabitha Khumalo as his deputy. 

Tsvangirai remains party leader together with his deputy, Thokozani Khuphe after they were both unopposed