No Confidence Vote On Chigwedere

The Zanu(PF) Mashonaland East province interim executive committee has passed a vote of no confidence on Acting Chairman Aeneas Chigwedere and recommended the expulsion of 5 other senior members of the party.

The interim committee says the reasons for the vote of no confidence on Chigwedere include taking decisions without consulting the executive; failing to conduct meetings for the past 2 months; failing to introduce newly re-admitted members of the party namely  Jonathan Samkange of Mudzi and  Daniel Garwe of Murehwa – to the community which has caused factionalism, chaos and confusion within those particular areas where these members come from; and failing to advise the interim committee of the 5-star rally in which Vice President Emmerson Mnangagwa came to Hwedza resulting in poor attendance.

Chigwedere,historian and former minister of education however, said the interim committee does not have the mandate to expel him as he can only be fired by those who appointed him.

The interim executive also recommended the expulsion of the following members from Zanu PF – Ray Kaukonde, Simba Mudarikwa, Petronella Kagonye, Tendai Makunde and Olivia Muchena.

The executive also recommended that the following party members be given 5-year suspensions – Paddy Zhanda, Washington Musvaire, Phenias Chihota, Felix Mhona, Beater Nyamupinga, George Katsande, Lucky Kandemiri, Vernon Muringayi, John Mushayi, Peter Murwira, Marble Kavindikisa, Taurayi Pasirayi, Getrude Mariwo and Lillian Zemura.

The interim committee said the suspensions are as a result of the vote of no confidence emanating from their involvement and participation in promoting factionalism and planning to topple the legitimate government led by President Robert Mugabe.