Paine To Lead Australia In Zim

The 26-year-old, a member of Australia’s 2011 World Cup squad, will skipper both the one-day and four-day sides, announced on Monday by the Cricket Australia National Selection Panel.
South Australia batsman Callum Ferguson will be Paine’s deputy for the tour that sees the Australians play a one-day series against Zimbabwe and South Africa A before two four-day clashes involving the hosts.
Nine players have earned selection in both teams including Test paceman Ben Hilfenhaus, one of three members of Tasmania’s Sheffield Shield-winning line-up to make the trip.

Tigers all-rounders James Faulkner and Luke Butterworth have also earned selection following golden summers.
Teenage NSW batsman Nic Maddinson is one of the bolter selections and joins the likes of Blues colleagues Trent Copeland, Mitchell Starc and David Warner on the tour.
South Australia off-spinner Nathan Lyon has been rewarded for a stunning debut summer, where he dominated the KFC Twenty20 Big Bash, with selection in the one-day squad, while former Test spinner Jason Krejza is in the four-day team.

Usman Khawaja will be one of the bulwarks of the four-day squad as one of five players boasting Test experience (Krejza, Phillip Hughes, Michael Beer and Hilfenhaus).
NSP chairman Andrew Hilditch believes a fine blend of youth and experience permeates through the squad.
‘The one-day squad boasts some of Australia#8217;s most exciting young talent, together with several players who have already represented Australia and enjoyed international success,’ Hilditch said.
‘The squad is led by Tim Paine and with his vice-captain Callum Ferguson this presents as a great opportunity for them to both gain leadership experience and we are sure they will both be very successful in these roles.’

Hilditch is confident the batting and bowling line-ups have enough quality to ensure a successful tour.

‘David Warner, Paine and Ferguson have all had good exposure at the highest level and their experience will be of great benefit to the younger members of the squad such as Nic Maddinson and Chris Lynn who we consider to have the potential to succeed at international level,’ Hilditch said.
‘The fast bowlers will be led by the experienced Ben Hilfenhaus who we are keen to get plenty of cricket into following a good break from last season, and also Mitchell Starc who is returning from injury but performed well in Australian colours against Sri Lanka back in early November.’
‘They will be well supported by Trent Copeland and Luke Butterworth who both had standout seasons for their respective states. The spinners for the one-day series are Stephen O’Keefe who continues to impress with his all-round skills and Nathan Lyon who showed great promise during his debut season for South Australia.’
‘For the longer format matches of the series; Phillip Hughes, Usman Khawaja, Jason Krejza and Michael Beer join the squad. These four players have already played Test cricket for Australia and this tour is seen as a great opportunity for them to get further international cricket ahead of possible selection in the upcoming Australian VB Tour of Sri Lanka.’

One-Day: Tim Paine (c), Callum Ferguson, Luke Butterworth, Trent Copeland, James Faulkner, Ben Hilfenhaus, Aaron Finch, Nathan Lyon, Chris Lynn, Nic Maddinson, Mitch Marsh, Mitch Starc, Stephen O#8217;Keefe, David Warner.
Four-Day: Tim Paine (c), Callum Ferguson, Michael Beer, Luke Butterworth, Trent Copeland, James Faulkner, Ben Hilfenhaus, Usman Khawaja, Jason Krezja, Phillip Hughes, Nic Maddinson, Mitch Marsh, Mitch Starc, David Warner.