Race for Speaker On

The position fell vacant after a Supreme Court ruling that the speaker Lovemore Moyo of the mainstream (MDC-T) led by Morgan Tsvangirai, had been elected improperly in 2008.

“Paul Themba Nyathi is a charismatic character with unquestionable credentials to restore sanity in the house of assembly. A number of MDC-T and Zanu (PF) legislators have great respect for Paul Themba Nyathi and none of the level headed legislators in our house of assembly dispute the candidature of Nyathi. As the MDC we respect the Supreme Court ruling which we think should serve as a lesson for habitual cheats and fraudsters who have the habit of getting into positions of authority through the back door,” said the party in a statement.

“It’s unfortunate that a party that calls itself a party of excellence has turned out to be a party of fraudsters and pseudo democrats “ read the statement signed by party spokesperson Kurauone Chihwai.

Chief Justice Godfrey Chidyausiku in concurrence with Judges of Appeal, Justice Vernanda Ziyambi and Justice Paddington Garwe, ruled in favour of Tsholotsho North House of Assembly member Jonathan Moyo and the MDC’s Moses Mzila Ndlovu, Patrick Dube and Siyabonga Ncube who had applied to the Supreme Court for the nullification of Moyo’s election.

Jonathan Moyo, Ndlovu, Dube and Ncube had appealed to the Supreme Court following the dismissal of the case by High Court judge Justice Bharat Patel early last year, where they sought to nullify Moyo’s election as Speaker of Parliament.

Jonathan Moyo argued the voting process was flawed and not done by secret ballot and that it was tainted by the behaviour of the Minister of Finance, Tendai Biti, and five other MDC-T parliamentarians who publicly displayed their ballot papers after casting their votes, thereby influencing the outcome.

The MPs named as having displayed their votes are Biti, Deputy Prime Minister Thokozani Khupe, Amos Chibaya, Gorden Moyo, Severino Chambati and Piniel Denga.