Savanhu Kicked Out Of Hwange

The dismissal came despite Savanhu’s spirited attempt to mislead shareholders that the Annual General Meeting (AGM) had been constituted unlawfully.

Savanhu had flighted notices in national newspapers telling shareholders to ignore an earlier notice calling for Wednesday’s meeting.

His salvation may lie in a High Court case to be held Thursday.

Wednesday’s AGM appointed Shingirayi Chibhanguza, Jemmister Chininga, Ian Haruperi, Nkosilathi Jiyane, Siphiwe Mapfuwa, Johnson Mawere, Farai Mutamangira, Lucas Nkomo and Valentine Vera.

With these appointments it means that Savanhu and other board members comprising Thabani Ndlovu, Alpheus Motampe Ngapo, James Nqindi and Rosemary Sibanda, Fortune Chasi, Shingai Israel Mutumbwa, Tendai Savanhu, Prisca Mupfumira and Thandiwe Thando Mlobane will no longer sit in the board.

A jittery Savanhu tried to mislead the media saying the meeting was adjourned and that Deputy Prime Minister Arthur Mutambara had said the meeting should not go ahead. However, Nicholas van Hoogstraten, told the media that the meeting went ahead as scheduled despite Savanhu walking out of the AGM.

Wednesday’s meeting came after an earlier AGM on June 30 was adjourned after shareholders agreed to restructure the company.