senior zanu pf officials defect to zapu

Sakupwanya and Chigudu were PF Zapu officials before it was swallowed by President Robert Mugabe’s Zanu PF after the signing of the unity accord in 1987.

The revival of Zapu is being led by Dumiso Dabengwa, a former Zipra intelligence supremo who later became a Zanu PF politburo member and Cabinet minister.

Zapu officials in Mutare said Chigudu will get a senior post in the national executive led by Dabengwa while Sakupwanya is already a member of the party’s Council of Elders which also constitutes senior politicians such as Thenjiwe Lesabe.

Chigudu served as provincial governor and resident minister before he was replaced by Chris Mushohwe in 2008.

He doubled as Zanu PF provincial chairman in Manicaland. He was blamed for Zanu PF poor showing in Manicaland during ther March 2008 general election. He was subsequently removed from the post and left in the wilderness.

Sakupwanya is a senator. He is Zanu PF politburo secretary for welfare of the disabled and disadvantaged persons.

Zapu sources said an announcement was likely to made any time soon to inform the country about the developments.

The Zapu executive is scheduled to hold a mini-provincial congress where a new executive will be elected.

“That is when we are likely to be officially told that Chigudu and Sakupwanya have rejoined the party,’ said a member of the Zapu executive in Manicaland.
The sources also hinted Zapu was likely to form a coalition with Simba Makoni’s Mavambo and the MDC formation led by Arthur Mutambara should elections be held next year