Speaker Wants Corrupt MPs Arrested

Last week Constitutional and Parliamentary Affairs Minister, Eric Matinenga named 10 MPs including two Ministers saying they face arrest after failing to account for money given to them under the CDF.

Matinenga said his ministry had engaged the Anti-Corruption Commission and the police to investigate the matter. One of the 10 MPs, Marvellous Khumalo who is the MDC-T legislator for St Mary’s has already been arrested and dragged to court.

However speaking to journalists in Bulawayo on Friday, Moyo said he welcomes the prosecution of the MPs who looted CDF adding, that the legislators should lead by example and be accountable for public funds.

“I welcome the stance taken by the Minister of Constitutional Affairs and the Anti-Corruption Commission in investigating allegations of corruption leveled against the MPs. We want zero tolerance of corruption in parliament,” said Moyo.

Moyo added: “The question of accountability and transparency in the use of public funds must not end in the scrutiny of government, but MPs themselves must also be accountable. We must practice what we preach.”

The other MPs who were named together with Khumalo for failing to account for CDF funds are Public Service Minister Lucia Matibenga (MDC-T Kuwadzana West) National Healing Minister Senator Sekai Holland (MDC-T, Mabvuku-Tafara constituency), Deputy Health Minister Douglas Mhombeshora (Zanu PF, Mhangura), Peter Chanetsa (Zanu PF, Hurungwe North), Chindori Chininga (Zanu PF, Guruve South), Naison Nemadziva (MDC-T, Buhera South) , Abraham Sithole (Zanu PF, Chiredzi East), Franco Ndambakuwa (Zanu PF Magunje), and Lawrence Mavima (Zanu PF Zvishavane-Runde).

The Constitutional Development Fund (CDF) was established by Finance Minister Tendai Biti, with all 210 MPs in the House of Assembly accessing US$50,000 for distribution to deserving projects in their constituencies.