Sports Awards Nominees Unveiled

The seven time Olympic medal winner who reached the finals of all her events at the 2012 London Olympic Games leads a strong cast of Zimbabwe top female athletes in the Sportswoman of the Year category including three runners Sharon Tawengwa, Tabitha Tsatsa, and Faith Nyasango.

The other nominee is rower Micheene Thorncroft, who also participated in the Olympic Games in London.

The winner of the Sportswoman of the Year Award along with the winners from the other categories will compete for the big award, the Sportsperson of the Year Award.

Spokesperson of the Sports and Recreation Commission Tirivashe Nheveyembwa said winners will be decided on by a panel of judges led by former sports commentator, Paul Nenjerama.

The awards have been an annual event since 15 years ago.

Golfer Brendon De Jonge who is in the top 40 on the Professional Golfers Association money list has had his performance recognised and has been nominated for the Sportsman of the Year Award. De Jonge has had one second finish and has four top 10 finishes to his credit and is a strong contender for the overall.

He is grouped along with marathon runners Cuthbert Nyasango, Stepehn Muzhingi, and Wirimayi Zhuwayo, chess player Rodwell Makoko and athlete Paul Madzivire in the fight for the Sportsman of the Year Award.

Other awards include the junior sportsman and sportswoman of the year, sportsman and sportswoman of the year with disability and their juniors, coach of the year, technical official of the year, coach of the year, team of the year, amongst others.

Most of the Zimbabwean athletes have not had much success on the international front. The seven members of the Zimbabwe Olympic team, which participated at the London Games, came back empty handed.