Sports Writers Association Dumped Out Of Soccer Star Selection

Delta marketing director Maxen Karombo said the selection had been shrouded in a lot of controversy. He said consultations with stake holders will be held to find a better way of selection which may include soccer fans.

Delta Chief Executive Officer Joe Mutizwa said they will engage the PSL on the way forward in the selection.

According to Mutizwa, ‘The Castle Premier Soccer Star of the Year will be selected through a process agreed between Delta Beverages and the Premier Soccer League.’

SWAZ chairman Wellington Nyoni said they had not yet been advised of the new moves and would seek a meeting with both Delta and the PSL.

The Sports Writers Association had been selecting the soccer stars of the year since 1969.  Last year it battled to find a sponsor to bankroll the awards. Although it finally found one in the form of the Zimbabwe Tourism Authority, the winner Charles Sibanda and the other 10 finalists were still to receive their prize monies.

Usually, the sponsor of the PSL funds the soccer star of the year awards. Delta Beverages has committed themselves to sponsor the awards this year and has poured in a total of US$56 000 for the individual awards only. On top of that, the company introduced the most disciplined team of the year award as well as monthly awards in the form of player of the month, top goalscorer and goalkeeper of the month. These carry a US$500 prize money.

Delta are sponsoring the Premiership to the tune of US$2 million over a period of three years. The 2011 season only has a total package of US$600 000.