Zanu (PF) Politburo Meets Over Electoral Defeat

Insiders claimed the politburo – the Zanu (PF) supreme decision-making body-met to deliberate on the defeat with a possibility to launch a witch hunt on members of parliament that voted for a rival candidate.

There were 203 MPs eligible to vote but 199 turned up for poll. Of these, 96 each belonged to Zanu (PF) and MDC-T and seven to Welshman Ncube MDC. Four MPs – two each from Zanu (PF) and MDC-T – were absent for various reasons.

With 96 MDT legislators in parliament, Lovemore gained eleven votes, raising strong suspicions that at least two Zanu (PF) MPs voted for a rival candidate.

“We are meeting this morning as the politburo, the issue might be raised,” said Zanu (PF) spokesman Rugare Gumbo.

The voting pattern in Tuesday night’s election is said to have devastated Zanu (PF) which desperately wants to re-gain its lost glory against Prime Minister Morgan Tsvangirai and his MDC T.

The MDC-T candidate, Lovemore Moyo won 105 votes against 94 for Zanu (PF’s) representative who is the current party’s chair, Simon Khaya Moyo.