Zanu (PF) Politburo Unmask Mujuru, Mnangagwa As Faction Leaders, Bans Slogans

The Zanu PF Politburo meeting held in the capital on Thursday ended late in the evening with the adoption of a resolution to set up a commission of inquiry into the plague of factionalism which has been rocking the party in the last few years.

Addressing journalists at the end of the Politburo meeting the Zanu PF Secretary for Information and Publicity,  Rugare Gumbo said the issue was raised in a report presented by outgoing Secretary of the Women’s League Cde Oppah Muchinguri.

Muchinguri was requested to compile a report on the ‘Meet the People Rallies’ held by the First Lady countrywide.

According to ZBC News Gumbo said there was candid and robust debate on the issue with members of the Politburo naming the leaders of the factions as  Joice Mujuru and Emmerson Mnangagwa.

The issue of the suspension of Mashonaland West provincial chairman Temba Mliswa was also discussed with the Politburo upholding the suspension.

The development whereby some that had voted in favour of the suspension were now withdrawing was said to be invalid with the Politburo upholding the suspension.

The Politburo also discussed the issue of the chanting of some slogans such as ‘Pasi Negamatox’ and ‘Pasi Ne Zvipfukuto’ which were ruled to be out of the party’s statutes.

These slogans have been banned forthwith.