Zanu (PF) Purging Continues Unabated

The Zanu PF Mashonaland Central Co-ordinating Committee meeting has recommended that 15 out of the 24  legislators in the province be recalled for allegedly fanning factionalism and working to topple President Robert Mugabe.


This was revealed by the provincial chairman,  Dickson Mafios, in an interview with the ZBC News.

Soon after emerging from the meeting held in Mushumbi Pools in Mbire District,  Mafiosi said the gathering resolved that the current purging of Zanu PF party members fingered in underhand dealings should cascade to lower structures of the party.


He added that the province is embarking on a restructuring programme of party cells, an exercise which is expected to be completed at the end of next month.


Some of the party bigwigs affected include Cde Nicholas Goche – Shamva North constituency, Lazarus Dokora – Rushinga, David Butau – Mbire, Retired Brigadier Walter Kanhanga – Guruve North.

The elected MPs not affected include Cdes Wonder Mashange of Rushinga  constituency,  Tabeth Kanengoni-Malinga -Mazowe Central, Kazembe Kazembe – Mazowe West;  Alfred Mufunga – Muzarabani North; Remigias Matangira–Bindura South and the Senator for Bindura, Cde Monica Mavhunga.

Some of the non-constituency MP’s not affected by the latest development are Cdes Tsitsi Gezi and Getrude Chibhangu.

Mashonaland Central province has 18 elected MP’s and 6 non-constituency MPs.

However, the Zanu PF commissariat department has directed that no changes be effected to the party structures pending the announcement of guidelines for the process.

The guidelines will be approved by the central committee, the politburo and the presidium and will be implemented by the commissariat department.