ZCTU Elects New Leadership, Matombo Boycotts Congress

Nkiwane is the new president of the ZCTU taking over from Lovemore Matombo who boycotted the congress. Japhet Moyo took over from Wellington Chibebe as the new secretary general. Chibebe is heading for Brussels where he was appointed deputy General Secretary of the global trade union body, International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC).

Moyo is deputised by Gideon Shoko and Dickson Tarusenga whilst Nkiwane is deputised by three vice presidents namely Thoko Siwela, Rwatipedza Chigwagwa and Lucia Matibenga.

Enock Mahari was elected treasurer general.

Bulawayo based lawyer Kucaca Phulu who is also Zimbabwe Human Rights Association (ZimRights) boss who conducted the elections said all candidates were happy with the results.

“We never had any problem, every thing went well and there was no dispute from any candidate who participated in the elections, “said Phulu.

The theme for the ZCTU seventh national congress was “Respect Our Rights, Save the Economy and Our Jobs, is more of a message to us”.

Factionalism had rocked the trade union movement ahead of the congress. Some affiliates have sided with Chibebe while others have thrown their weight behind president Matombo who did not attend the Bulawayo congress

High Court judge on Friday dismissed a court application by the Progressive Teachers Union of Zimbabwe (PTUZ) and seven other ZCTU affiliates that sought to bar the workers’ movement from holding going its congress.