Zim Names Team For Women's Cricket World Cup

Meyers is part of the 14 member squad that will battle for the four remaining slots for the 2013 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup to be hosted by India in 2013.

Hosts Bangladesh will be joined by teams from Ireland, Japan, Netherlands, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, USA and Zimbabwe in the fight for those four places.

Zimbabwe who have never qualified for the women’s World Cup are in the same group with South Africa, Sri Lanka, the Netherlands, and the United States of America in Group A while Bangladesh, the West Indies, Pakistan, Ireland, and Japan make up the other group.

The top two teams from the groups will qualify for the finals.

World champion England, Australia, India and New Zealand have already qualified for the event by virtue of finishing in the top four at the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2009 which was staged in Sydney.

The ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifiers will be played at four venues in Dhaka, namely Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Narayanganj Osmani Stadium, BKSP 1* and BKSP 2.

The Zimbabwean women’s team first played international cricket as part of the African regional qualifiers for the 2009 World Cup in December 2006 when they played Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda and won all their matches and qualified for the final round in Pakistan but failed to reach the World Cup finals.

Julia Chibhabha who captained the team at the qualifiers for the 2009 World Cup and sister to national men’s team player, Chamunorwa, is also part of the current squad.

Zimbabwe Team

Sharne Meyers (captain), Julia Chibhabha, Precious Marange, Ashley Ndiraya, Sharyce Saili, Modester Mupachikwa, Pellagia Mujaji, Nonhlanhla Nyathi, Sinikiwe Mpofu, Thandolwenkosi Mlilo, Christabel Chatonzwa, Sarah Dambanevana, Audrey Mazvishaya, Loreen Tshuma