Zim Speaker Appointed SADC Parly Forum Chair

Moyo, who is the MDC T legislator for Matopo in Matabeleland South, was elected on Friday 3 December 2010, at a gathering of regional legislators from the Southern African Development Community.

In a statement celebrating his elevation, the MDC T said on Tuesday the election of Moyo showed SADC’s confidence in the MDC and the people of Zimbabwe.

“He becomes the first Zimbabwean chairperson on the regional grouping, a feat that demonstrates the MDC’s requisite role and impeccable credentials in fostering regional cohesion, unity and development,” read part of the MDC T statement to the media.

“The honour conferred on Honourable Moyo on behalf of the people bears testament to the MDC’s values which emphasize the sanctity of life, solidarity and togetherness. The MDC is generally satisfied that the conduct and behaviour of those deployed to stations of government clearly demonstrates the capacity of the party to work with Zimbabweans in the full realization of real change and a new beginning in people’s lives. As such, the MDC has demonstrated and exhibited alternative politics of humility, serving leadership and accountability, that makes the different,” it said.

Moyo was elected the Speaker of the House of Assembly in August 2008, beating Zanu (PF) and MDC M, Paul Themba Nyathi, prompting Zanu (PF) spin-doctor Tsholotsho legislator Jonathan Moyo to launch bid challenging his election on the grounds that parliamentary rules were violated by MDC-T legislators.

Judgment on the case has been deferred.