Zimbabwe Bids To Host FIFA Women World Cup

Cuthbert Dube, the Zimbabwe Football Association president told Radio VOP that the association had submitted a bid to host the women’s world soccer cup. The FIFA Women’s World Cup 2015 will be the seventh FIFA Women’s World Cup, the quadrennial international women’s football world championship tournament.

For this tournament, the number of teams will be expanded from 16 to 24, with the number of matches increasing from 32 to 52. The countries that have submitted bids are New Zealand, Wales, Scotland, United Arab Emirates, Turkey and Cuba.
The host will be announced in March 2011.

The FIFA Women’s World Cup is recognised as the most important international competition in women’s football and is played amongst women’s national football teams of the member states of FIFA, the sport’s global governing body. Contested every four years, the first Women’s World Cup tournament, named the Women’s World Championship, was held in 1991, sixty-one years after the men’s first FIFA World Cup tournament in 1930. The current format has 16 teams competing every four years for the winner’s trophy.

The tournament was originally the brainchild of the then FIFA president João Havelange. The inaugural tournament was hosted in China in 1991, with 12 teams sent to represent their countries. The 1995 FIFA Women’s World Cup was held in Sweden with 12 teams. Over 660 000 spectators attended the 1999 FIFA Women’s World Cup in the United States. The United States and Germany have won the championship twice and Norway once. Germany is the two-time defending champion.