Zimbabwe for Hong Kong Sevens

The IRB World Series have is an eight legged tournaments held around the world and Zimbabwe has been invited to the tournaments held in Hong Kong and George in South Africa.

Bruce Hobson, the Zimbabwe sevens manager said the team was excited that they had been given another chance to participate at the Hong Kong Sevens.

This year the iconic Hong Kong Sevens march past will feature some south of the border flair as the Hong Kong Sevens welcomes Mexico to the fiesta. Mexico is the first new competing team for the Hong Kong Sevens since Madagascar appeared in 2006.

Invited by the International Rugby Board to compete in Hong Kong, Mexico becomes the 49th country to compete at the Hong Kong Sevens in the 35 years since the inception of the event. The Hong Kong leg will be Mexico Sevens’ only participation on the IRB World Sevens Series 2010/2011.

This year’s Cathay Pacific/Credit Suisse Hong Kong Sevens also sees the return of Spain for the first time since 1998, while Malaysia returns for the first time since 2003.

The Hong Kong Rugby Football Union, organisers of the Cathay Pacific/Credit Suisse Hong Kong Sevens, are excited to again welcome the 12 core teams participating in the IRB Sevens World Series 2010/11: Argentina, Australia, England, Fiji, France, Kenya, New Zealand, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, USA and Wales. Seven other teams from outside the region will join the Core teams: Canada, Mexico, Portugal, Russia, Spain, Tonga and Zimbabwe. Closer to home, the Hong Kong Sevens continues its traditional role supporting the development of Asian rugby hosting five teams from around the region: China, Japan, Korea, Malaysia and Hong Kong.