Zimbabwe Names Cricket Squad For Bangladesh

The team announced by the chairman of the Zimbabwe Cricket’s national team of selectors Alistar Campbell, a former captain of the national side himself, will be led by Brendan Taylor, and includes eight players who have played Test cricket before the country’s suspension.

Masvingo born left-arm seamer, Brian Vitori, is the only player in the squad who has not played international cricket while the rest of the squad for the Test that starts at Harare Sports Club was largely expected.

Campbell says the team is out to prove to the masses outside the world that they deserve to be playing international Test cricket, an opinion he shares with national coach Alan Butcher who says they have enough experience and match practice and are prepared for the show.

Wicketkeeper Tatenda Taibu who has been on the injury list since the World Cup in India which ran in India from February to April has recovered to take his place seeking to add to the 24 caps he already holds.

Taibu is the team’s most capped player followed by Raymond Price who as expected is also part of the team to face Bangladesh.

The captain himself Taylor boasts of 10 caps for the national side.

Former captain and all round Elton Chigumbura well as Christopher Mpofu, Craig Ervine, Vusi Sibanda, Regis Chakabva, Tino Mawoyo, Keegan Meth, Prosper Utseya, Kyle Jarvis, Hamilton Masakadza who a few years back at the age of 17 became the youngest player to score a century on debut has also made it into the squad.

The only surprise exclusion is that of Foster Mutizwa who cracked an unbeaten 87 for the Zimbabwe XI side in their victory over Bangladesh in the visitors’ warm up matches.

The Test against Bangladesh should provide Zimbabwe with a good return to Test cricket as the team has a far much better head to head test record against the Tigers. In eight Test matches since 2001, Zimbabwe has won four against Bangladesh’s one while three were drawn.

The two teams first met in Bulawayo in April 2001 with Zimbabwe winning by an innings and and 32 runs. They last met in Dhaka, Bangladesh, in January 2005 and the match was drawn.