Zimbabwe To Play SA's Springboks

The Springboks are the reigning IRB World series champions. Zimbabwe have been given one of the toughest fixtures after they were drawn in Pool F together South Africa, Kenya and Korea.

Zimbabwe will play their second match against Kenya on March 27 before playing Korea on the same day.

Zimbabwe are invited to two series of the IRB World series in Hong Kong and George, South Africa and Dubai.

The team is aiming to become of the core teams of the IRB World Series. The series is played over eight legs in USA, New Zealand, Hong Kong, George, Dubai, Australia, England and Scotland. The core teams are Argentina, Australia, England, Fiji, France, Kenya, New Zealand, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, USA and Wales.

Pool F is traditionally the most evenly-matched due to the seeding structure, all three African nations in the draw will go head to head: Kenya and Zimbabwe will both be out to upset reigning IRB Sevens World Series champions South Africa, while Korea complete the line-up.

Based on performance in the two most recently completed Series events, Samoa are the top seeds in Hong Kong.

The 2007 champions head Pool A and face tough matches against Argentina and two European challengers, Russia and Italy.

Series leaders New Zealand are seeded second and head Pool B where they will play Scotland, France and Chinese Taipei on days one and two.

In Pool C defending Hong Kong Sevens champions Fiji are matched against the USA, Portugal and Thailand.

USA Sevens semi finalists Australia are fourth seeds and line up in Pool D alongside Canada, Tonga and China.

In Pool E England face local rivals Wales, as well as the dual Asian challenge of regional heavyweights Japan and home favourites Hong Kong.

So far this season there have been three different Cup winners on the World Series. New Zealand won the opening two events in Dubai and George, South Africa. Defending Hong Kong Sevens champions Fiji took the honours in Wellington and Samoa won the first USA Sevens title to be contested in Las Vegas.