Zimbabwe Warriors In Tough Group

Henrietta Rushwaya, the ZIFA chief executive officer confirmed the grouping to RadioVOP. The draw was attended by a representative from the Zimbabwe Embassy in the DRC.

The qualifiers will start in September this year. There will be 42 countries in the draw for the 2012 finals to be co-hosted by Equatorial Guinea and Gabon, who qualify automatically.

Togo are not in Saturday’s draw but could still be included at a later date if their appeal over a ban from the next two Nations Cups with the Court of Arbitration for Sport (Cas) is successful.

Togo were controversially banned from the 2012 and 2014 Nations Cups by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) because of ‘government interference.’

That followed Togo’s pull out of last month’s tournament in Angola at the insistence of the Togolese government after a deadly rebel attack injured players and left two members of their delegation dead.

The Togolese FA had asked Cas for the ban to be temporarily lifted so that they could be included in Saturday’s draw.

That initial appeal failed, but Cas is due to make a final ruling on Togo’s appeal in the coming months.

If the Swiss-based court eventually finds in Togo’s favour then a new draw for the 2012 edition will be held.

The Zimbabwe Warriors will be drawn in Pot  2 alongside, Namibia, Congo DR, Gambia, Libya, Botswana, Ethiopia, Sierra Leone, Swaziland, Chad, Burundi, Lesotho and Madagascar.